New Zealand Mosaic Art

(To view images of all the entries, please use the navigation arrows above)


The seventh New Zealand Mosaic Art National Exhibition was held at Whanganui Arts – at the Centre.

After two covid-related cancellations, it was wonderful to finally be able to get together.  Please enjoy this wonderful collection from mosaic artists throughout New Zealand.

Judges:  Helen Bodycomb (Australia), Marty Vreede (Whanganui), Katie Brown (Whanganui)


Overall Winners




First:  Heina Petzold ‘Mind Over Matter’  (pictured above)

Second: Jo Luker ‘The Whanganui River’

Third:  Heina Petzold  ‘Food for Thought’

Highly Commended:  Jane Santos ‘Mainly Hataitai’


Winners of 2D

First: Jo Luker ‘The Whanganui River’  (pictured above)

Second:  Achilles Botes ‘Kea in the Clouds’

Highly Commended: Jo Luker ‘Dishwasher and Detergent Proof’


Winners of 3D

First:  Sharon Pine  ‘Beau’ (pictured above)

Second:  Sharon Pine  ‘2020 The Beginning’

Highly Commended:  Jenny Hendrix  ‘Be Like Water’


Margaret Coupe Award

First:  Sharon Pine  ‘Beau’

Second:  Jane Santos   ‘There’s Always One’

Highly Commended:  Sian Steward  ‘Storm in a Teacup’


Winners of Pacifica

First:  Rowena Rooney ‘Echoes of the Past – Na Oti ni Voqa’ (pictured above)

Second: Paul Harper  ‘Growth’

Highly Commended:  Rowena Rooney  ‘Basket of Knowledge – Kila-ka ni Kato’


Reflections of New Zealand Award


First:  Heina Petzold  ‘Mind Over Matter’ (pictured above)

Second: Jane Santos  ‘Mainly Hataitai’

Highly Commended:  Jo Luker  ‘Made in New Zealand’


First Time Entrants

First:  Achilles Botes  ‘Crown Lynn Octopus’ (pictured above)

Second: Paul Harper  ‘Growth’

Highly Commended:  Achilles Botes  ‘Harbour Entrance’


Our generous Sponsors

Mosaic Trader NZ, Funky Glass Art, and the Glass Station

Become A Member

Enjoy inspiration and support from the NZMA community. Receive discounts on NZMA exhibitions and events. Be the first to get the news updates. Support New Zealand Aotearoa mosaic art. Find out more about the benefits of membership and join today!